1. Kansas State University
  2. »4-H Youth Development
  3. »Kansas 4-H Tip Sheet
  4. »2016 Kansas 4-H Wheat Expo Results

Kansas 4-H Tip Sheet

August 15, 2016

2016 Kansas 4-H Wheat Expo Results

Submitted by Deryl Waldren

Over 85 Kansas 4-H members, siblings, parents, friends and Extension staff attended the 2016 Kansas 4-H Wheat Expo in Wichita on August 3rd at the Sedgwick County Extension Center. Participants judged educational classes of wheat, muffins, breads, and photography. Participants were able to attend one of two tours: the Cargill Wheat Innovation Center or a Bread In A Bag activity geared for youth.

Thanks go to our 2016 sponsors: Cargill Cares Wichita; Kansas Wheat Commission, Manhattan; KSU Department of Grain Science; Kansas Wheat Quality Lab, Manhattan; Kansas Wheat Alliance, Manhattan; Kansas Crop Improvement Association, Manhattan; Stafford County Flour Mill, Hudson; Kansas 4-H Youth Development; and KSRE – Sedgwick County Extension Office.

Planning team members included: Jodi Besthorn, Beth Dresher, Zach Simon, Berny Unruh, Alicia Boor, Becky Miller, Glenn Newdigger, Mark Ploger, Randy Hein, Jodi Drake, Elly Sneath and Deryl Waldren. Thanks to everyone who helped make this year’s wheat expo the success it was.

Awards were given in seven divisions and the judging activity. Premium monies for those who attended will be awarded and mailed to participants for the seven divisions in the near future. The major results in each division are:

Division 1 – 1 lb. Wheat, Produced by 4-H member (14 exhibits)
1st – Maddy Nichepor, Walnut Creek District, Ness City, Double Stop CL variety
2nd – Spencer Jagels, Wildcat District, Girard, Double Stop CL Plus variety
3rd – Jessica DeWeese, Pratt County, Double Stop CL Plus variety

Division 2 – 1 lb. Wheat, Adopt a Wheat Producer (6 exhibits)
1st – Ellie Just, Marion County, Mint variety
2nd – Sara Schlickau, Reno County, AP503 CL variety
3rd – Lucas Dillon, Wilson County, Double Stop CL Plus variety

Division 3 – 1 Quart jar of Cleaned Wheat (14 exhibits)
1st – Colton Haresnape, Post Rock District, Smith Center
2nd – Ellie Just, Marion County
3rd – Savannah Siyajuck, Johnson County

Division 4 – 3 Yeast Rolls (17 exhibits)
1st – Sara Schlickau, Reno County
2nd – Sara Schlickau, Reno County
3rd – Jessica DeWeese, Pratt County

Division 5 – 3 Cookies (24 exhibits)
1st – Jurney Yung, Sedgwick County
2nd – Sara Schlickau, Reno County
3rd – Landon Weide, Reno County

Division 6 – Wheat Photography Contest (20 exhibits)
1st – Jessica DeWeese, Pratt County
2nd – Kaylen Langhofer, Meade County
3rd – Summer Siyajuck, Johnson County

Division 7 – Posters (7 exhibits)
1st - Kaylen Langhofer, Meade County
2nd – Jessica DeWeese and Jarod DeWeese, Pratt County
3rd – Jarod DeWeese, Pratt County

Division 8 – Cloverbuds (2 exhibits – ribbons only)

Judging Activity (48 participants – ribbons only)
1st – Hayden Riffey, Pratt County
2nd – Clayton Meador, Frontier District - Ottawa

For more information about the Kansas 4-H Wheat Expo, contact Deryl Waldren at 785-462-6281 or e-mail: dwaldren@ksu.edu.